Little Salkeld is one of the Eden Valley’s smaller villages, not much more than a big hamlet really. It doesn’t have a pub, it doesn’t have a shop, but it does have a working watermill and, just down the road, an enormous stone circle. Built as a corn mill in 1745, Little Salkeld Watermill was restored in the 1970s and now uses water power to produce traditional stoneground flour. The mill is open to the public for self-guided tours, and there is also a mill shop and popular tearoom.
Less than a mile to the north of the village is Long Meg and Her Daughters, a Bronze Age stone circle. Little Salkeld is also the starting point for a popular five-mile circular walk that visits the stones, the picturesque church of St Michael and All Angels, and Lacy’s Caves, carved into red sandstone cliffs beside the River Eden.